Bookstagram Tours

Dark Tides Bookstagram Tour

Dark Tides by Philippa Greggory

Midsummer Eve 1670. Two unexpected visitors arrive at a shabby warehouse on the south side of the River Thames. The first is a wealthy man hoping to find the lover he deserted twenty-one years before. James Avery has everything to offer, including the favour of the newly restored King Charles II, and he believes that the warehouse's poor owner Alinor has the one thing his money cannot buy – his son and heir.
The second visitor is a beautiful widow from Venice in deepest mourning. She claims Alinor as her mother-in-law and has come to tell Alinor that her son Rob has drowned in the dark tides of the Venice lagoon.
Alinor writes to her brother Ned, newly arrived in faraway New England and trying to make a life between the worlds of the English newcomers and the American Indians as they move toward inevitable war. Alinor tells him that she knows – without doubt – that her son is alive and the widow is an imposter.
Set in the poverty and glamour of Restoration London, in the golden streets of Venice, and on the tensely contested frontier of early America, this is a novel of greed and desire: for love, for wealth, for a child, and for home.

Monday 7th December
@aetwigg
@mytreasureinbooks

Tuesday 8th December
@shh_reads_
@emmaturningpages

Wednesday 9th December
@lostinthepages8
@readerofrivendell

Thursday 10th December
@bookbeforeuleap
@rainy.reads

Friday 11th December
@becbentliff
@bookishbursnoll

Saturday 12th December
@thepagesofmrsd
@bookishfairytail

Sunday 13th December
@bookskamila
@gottcarl82

Monday 14th December
@jane_kelsey
@thebibliomaniacxo

Tuesday 15th December
@these.blank.pages
@magnifying_reader

Wednesday 16th December
@alicjawrites
@northernbookqueen

Thursday 17th December
@kristinas_shelves
@bookwormbythebeach

Friday 18th December
@whatmakespatri
@mumwithabookblog

Saturday 19th December
@shelfofstories
@readbyray

Sunday 20th December
@june.reads
@mrsbookburney

Monday 21st December
@mikitravelgram
@educatingchloe

Tuesday 22nd December
@blottedinkbooks
@frenzyreads

Wednesday 23rd December
@bookishreadsandme
@emmasbookishlife

Thursday 24th December
@lureadsanything
@bookmummyuk

Friday 25th December
@turn.up.forthe.books
@bex_boys_and_books

Saturday 26th December
@livinginmyownprivatelibrary
@thatbookishfangil